800x800Kirkland-JustinDSC_4684-square.jpgI am an Associate Professor in the Department of Politics and Associate Professor (by courtesy) at the Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy at the University of Virginia. I am also a faculty affiliate at the Center for Effective Lawmaking. I received my Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. My dissertation research was supervised by Thomas Carsey. Prior to my doctoral work at UNC, I received a Master’s Degree in Political Science from Appalachian State University. My research focuses on legislative behavior, state politics, and representation. My research has appeared in journals like American Political Science Review, American Journal of Political Science, and The Journal of Politics. I am a co-editor for the journal Legislative Studies Quarterly.

I am also a coauthor of The Illusion of Accountability: Transparency and Representation in American Legislatures, Roll Call Rebels, and Indecision in American Legislatures.

You can find a copy of my CV here.

You can find me on Google Scholar here.

You can find my replication materials on the Dataverse here.

You can find appendices to my articles here.

Email: jhk9y [at] virginia [dot] edu
S162 Gibson Hall
Department of Politics
University of Virginia